' [Birth Mother] First Mother Forum: Laws, Searching, Reunion

Laws, Searching, Reunion

State and Federal Laws Related to Adoption
Department of Health and Human Services, Child Welfare Information Gateway
Laws Related to Adoption and State Statute Search.

State laws regarding consent to adoption:
Department of Health and Human Services, Child Welfare Information Gateway

Oregon's Access to Court Records Law
Adoptees over 18 may inspect and copy their adoption court records except the home study just by asking for them at the clerk's office in the courthouse in the county their adoption took place.

First mothers and fathers who consented to the adoption may inspect and copy some of the records with an order from a judge. The judge must allow access unless the judge finds a good reason not to grant access which is not likely.

Instructions and forms are on the Oregon Judicial Department's website.

Colorado's Access to Documents Mothers Signed
First mothers who surrendered their children in Colorado may obtain their child's original birth certificate. Mothers who voluntarily relinquished their child may obtain copies of all documents they signed. 

For information on this new law and Colorado's law allowing adoptees access to their original birth certificates, see Adoptees in Search.

Hawaii
Natural parents, adoptees, and adoptive parents  can get their child's entire court file including after the original birth certificate adoptees turns 18. For forms and information about this law, see Adoption Circle of Hawai'i.

States Allowing Adoptees Access to Original Birth Certificates
Alabama
Alaska
Colorado--with first mother veto
Connecticut--for adoptees born after 10/1/1983
Delaware with first mother veto
Hawaii
Illinois with first mother veto
Indiana--effective 7/1/2018 with first mother veto
Kansas
Maine
Massachusetts--for adoptees born before 1974 and after 2007
Missouri--adoptees born before 1941 can get their original birth certificates after 8/28/16; adoptees born after that date can get thier birth certificates after 1/19/18 
Montana-- for persons adopted prior to 10/1/97, access at 30 years post birth; for persons adopted on or after 10/1/97, access at 18 years with first mother right to remove potential disclosure veto made only at the time of relinquishment. No new disclosure vetoes available post relinquishment; effective 10/1/2015
New Hampshire
New Jersey effective 1/1/2017 with first mother veto
Ohio with first mother veto
Oklahoma--for adoptees born after 1/1/97 with first mother veto
Oregon
Rhode Island
Tennessee
Vermont--with restrictions
Washington with first mother veto

The following sites may have more current information: Adoption Search and Reunion and The American Adoption Congress

Finding Legal Help
American Bar Association

Searching for a Loved One Lost to Adoption
Department of Health and Human Services, Child Welfare Information Gateway

American Adoption Congress

Bastard Nation

Reunion Support
American Adoption Congress

International Soundex Reunion Registry -- Free registry which connects people when a match is found.








1 comment :

  1. Thank you for your forum. It allowed me a good cry.

    ReplyDelete

We welcome comments from all, and appreciate letting us know how you relate to adoption when you leave your first comment.

COMMENTS ARE MODERATED. Our blog, our decision whether to publish or not. Anonymous comments from the same individual are more likely to be NOT POSTED. Select the NAME/URL selection, add a name. You do not need a URL. Fine to use a nom de plume.

COMMENTS AT POSTS OVER 30 DAYS OLD LESS LIKELY TO BE PUBLISHED.

We aim to be timely but we do have other lives.

For those coming here from Networked Blogs on Facebook, if it does not allow you to make a comment, click the "x" on the gray "Networked Blogs" tool bar to exit out of that frame and it should then let you comment.

We are unlikely to post comments that consist of nothing more than a link and the admonition to go there.